Reflections on Finishing a Technical Communication Graduate Program

As I reach the end of my time at Minnesota State University, Mankato, I can look back and say that I made the right choice to pursue the Master of Arts, Technical Communication (MATC) degree.

Before my penultimate semester in the program, I pondered whether the graduate technical communication program I chose was the correct option for me. Once again, I want to take some time to reflect on the choices I made, the experiences I’ve gained, and what I’ve learned along the way as I finish my thesis and complete the program.

*** To read the full article, see the Spring 2013 issue of Techniques, pages 1-5, 7.

Summary of contents:

  • Applying theory to practice — the “practice” versus “theory” debate
  • Master of Arts degree is synonomous with “adaptable”
  • How to benefit from networking as a technical communication graduate student and technical writer
  • How an online graduate degree prepares you training, working, and teaching
  • Technical Communication is a Multidisciplinary Field
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato, fulfilled my goals for a master’s degree in technical communication
3 Comments

Filed under Technical Writing

3 responses to “Reflections on Finishing a Technical Communication Graduate Program

  1. Pingback: Master of Arts, English Thesis: Ethics in #TechComm Graduate Programs | ferswriteshoe

  2. Pingback: My digital workflow as a Master’s and PhD #Techcomm student | ferswriteshoe

  3. Pingback: Choosing a Technical Communication Graduate Program | ferswriteshoe

Leave a Reply

